Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is difficult for a

teacher to be both popular (well-liked) and effective in helping students in

learning.

Whether a popular teacher cannot be effective in assisting students in learning, and vice versa, arouses a heated debate. As for me, I fully agree that it is extremely challenging for educators to strike a balance between effectiveness and popularity. My reasons are as follows.

Students in general prefer energetic teachers as opposed to strict teachers. In other words, if a teacher want to become popular and being liked by pupils, they need to sacrifice on being strict to students. As a result, students' learning efficiency will undoubtedly deteriorate significantly. Take my middle school music teacher as an example. My music teacher wanted to be friendly toward her students. She frequently spotted her students spacing out and gossiping during the class, but my music teacher wanted to sustain her popularity, so she chose to tolerate her students' misbehaviors. Unfortunately, since most students were unattentive throughout the entire lecture, nobody have gotten a score higher than B-minus on their final exams. Contrarily, my high school math teacher, Mr. Lieu, was exceptionally strict; he required his students to do ten diabolical math problems every week. Thus, even though most of his pupils performed well on their midterm math exams, every students, including me, portraited him as an unforgettable evil villian. Evidently, it is a dillema for an educator to find a balance between populairy and students' learning productivity.

Conspicuously, the quality of teaching materials is highly related to students' studying efficiency, but once a lecturer become popular, he/she might incorporate amusing yet unrelated contents into the material. As a result, the course quality will decrease drastically, which results in students' deterioration of learning effectiveness. As an example, my father is a high school history teacher. One day, my father bumped into a research paper stating that the degree of fun in an educator's teaching materials is significantly proportinate to an educator's popularity, so he decided to include intriguing historical facts into his history notes. Nevertheless, students were too obsessed with these funny historical stories that they tend to forgot the important histories that the should have learned. That is, students have problems identifying which section of the history material is essential to their study. Eventually, even though my father become popular in his school, most of his students perform incredibly terrible in history.

In conclusion, I completely agree that being poplar and helping students become effective is contradictory due to the aforementioned reasons.