Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is easier to become an educated person now than it was in the past.

It is incontrovertible that having academic knowledge brings us great benefits leading us to have a better world. After all, many people have been trying to be educated people for the last centuries. Yet, there could be a debate over whether today having academic knowledge is easier than the past or not. Some might argue that one could be an educated person in the past easier than today. However, I strongly believe that nowadays we have far less obstacles facing us in order to be well-educated for two reasons.

To begin with, it is obvious that technology has changed at a remarkably fast pace. In fact, it makes all the arrangements for us to gain many information on every imaginable topics. To illustrate this, one should see no further than many facilities, such as online courses and libraries, tutoring DVD’s. There are many universities accepting students online, which means that they can work and study at the same time with less difficulty. This is due to the fact that smart people always have an ace card up their sleeves, that is, throughout the history, smart, creative, and educated people have assisted us to live under less pressure, and we all appreciate it and try to make the best use of all developments. Therefore, we can assume that today we can acquire knowledge easier and faster.

Another major consideration is that contrary to the past, there are many more universities across the world. This means that in contrast to the past, we can go to many universities with our eyes closed. Nevertheless, people had to burn the midnight oil to enter a university, i.e., there was a lot of competition among all people to gain knowledge by studying in universities. From my personal experience, I entered Tehran university while 19 without any difficulty. To put it in a nutshell, I just got my diploma with flying colors and then register for this university. This was because there was no competition between me and other students, so that choosing a university was a piece of cake for me in the real sense of the word. This clearly depicts that had I lived in the past, I would have had several obstacles facing me.

In summary, there are many numerous to believe that studying and having academic knowledge is so easier than the past. This is because improvements of technology and facilities and building many more universities across the world.