Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current progressive sophisticated world where we live, the importance of being aware of the news is no secret to anyone. While many people assert that it is essential to get the world’s news, others believe otherwise and think it is enough to know just about the news that is important for their personal life. I concur with the latter group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that the world is full of bad news. Although most of this news is not directly related to individuals’ life, but may have harmful effects on their minds and consequently causes serious problems in their personal life. For example, if a person who lives in the United States reads breaking news about an airplane crash in Germany, he might become sad about the event while it was not related to him or his relatives. Therefore, since a part of his mind is involved in the crashing event unconsciously, he cannot focus on his job. As a result, his performance will decrease and gets into trouble in his occupation which might directly affect his personal life and relationship with his family.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that in the current progressive world where everything changes so quickly, time is gold and it is not proper to waste valuable time by following the news which happens far away around the world and doesn’t affect our life. It is better to spend this precious time on more important tasks like learning new skills, hanging out with family or friends, or even doing a hobby for enjoying life rather than following unrelated news. Following the news is enough as long as you are aware of what is happening around you and can handle your personal life, more than this is just wasting time.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that it is not essential to be aware of news all around the world. It is because most of the news is not related to our life not only bothers our spirit unconsciously but also wastes our valuable time.