TPO 50- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in the current progressive and sophisticated world where we live, the importance of knowing about ancient people is crystal clear. While some people assert it is unnecessary to force students whose major is not related to history to attend history classes, others believe otherwise and claim that students should mandatorily take history courses in university. I strongly support the second group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, attending history classes gives individuals a chance to learn crucial lessons about past events and utilize these lessons in their personal life. Reading about the country’s history helps people, especially students who are the next leaders and workforces of society, become familiar with their ancestors and how they reacted in various conditions. For example, how last generations countered with their adjacent countries and what they did that had caused their devastating or flourishing. Such historical knowledge would help the politicians to manage the country appropriately. Our government is a compelling example of this. Last year, our country got into trouble with one of our neighboring countries on sharing the water in the boundary yards. Thanks to the lessons had learned from the past events, the politicians decided to negotiate about the problem and solve the matter without any struggling. Had not considered the important lessons of our country’s last war, this problem might lead to a serious quarrel between two countries.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that taking history classes helps individuals become familiar not only with other countries’ history but also with their languages and cultures. Since history, culture, and language are connected, learning history can provide a situation to become familiar with other cultures and languages. As a result, students get a chance to improve their intercultural communication skills by participating in history classes, and after graduation, they can find occupations in international companies. For instance, one of my friends, whose major is civil engineering attended an Italian history class in the third year of his college. The course helped him become familiar with Italian architecture and made my friend keen to learn about their culture. After graduation, he sent his resume to several Italian universities and eventually found a suitable job position there. Now, he is studying and working simultaneously in an international university in Italy and mentions that history class, a valuable course that has changed his professional life.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that it is essential that every student, whatever are their majors, participate in history classes. This is because they learn important lessons about past events and they can become familiar with other countries’ languages and cultures.