Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current era, the importance of making good decisions and their consequences on different parts of society is obvious to all the country’s citizens. However, some people believe that youngsters do not affect this kind of decision, others believe otherwise and cannot deny the influence of youths on the future of the community. I support the latter group’s idea for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that the younger generations are the majority of each society and they are making the main body of a country. The youths, however, may not have critical positions in the current companies and political roles, but they will be the upcoming managers and politicians. Moreover, young people have a pivotal role in government policy and the future of society indirectly by selecting the politicians. For instance, official statistics in my country reveal that in the recent presidential election, more than 60 percent of the voters were young people between 18 to 30 years old. Therefore, the president has been elected by the youth’s votes. As a result, youngsters have a significant effect on the next 4-year policy of their country.

Another reason for this view is that the advancement of technologies and development of life quality have direct control on the awareness of society. These improvements provide a circumstance for young people to have access to a wide range of information and modern devices. Accordingly, the younger generations are more educated and knowledgeable and have more critical demands and need compared to the elder ones. The government has to pay attention to the youths’ requests since they are the true wealth of society. In world history, there are so many examples of old rules which have changed due to the protests of younger people. As a case in point, last summer, the prohibition rule of women driving in Saudi Arabia changed because of widespread requests and protests of young people.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that the youths have critical effects on different parts of a country. That is because not only do they have key positions in society, but also they are more aware and push every community forward.