Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, the significance and importance of saving the environment have been highlighted. While many people assert that plastic bags affect the environment harmfully and using them should be prohibited, others believe otherwise and think forbidding people to utilize these bags is not a good idea. I concur with the former group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First of all, one critical argument for stop using plastic bags is that it helps saving more natural resources. According to the statistic reports of oil companies, plastic bag production uses a great deal of oil supply annually, and just a tiny amount of these products are recycled. It means that much of the planet's precious natural resources are being used to produce goods that are unnecessary than other products. If utilizing poly bags were forbidden, the oil companies could use their resources for much more essential products which were not wasting materials.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that plastic decomposition takes a long time and seriously affects worldwide during this period. Most of these bags end up floating in the seas and are responsible for the deaths of many marine species, who make the bags for food. For instance, turtles often mistake floating poly bags for jellyfish that is one of their main food sources. The tragedy is that once they eat the plastic bags, it could lead to the choking and death of the animals. Consequently, many endangered species are becoming extinct because of these hazardous materials in their habitat.

By considering all the above reasons, I believe that it is essential to stop using plastic bags everywhere. It is because not only are they wasting natural resources like pure oil, but they also have harmful effects on the planet due to their long decomposition period.