Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current modern world where we are living, the importance of decision making in the success or failure of individuals' lives is evident, therefore everybody tries to make the best decision. While many people assert that youngsters used to be dependent on their parents to decide about their personal lives, others believe otherwise and think that young people are capable of making essential decisions about their future. I strongly support the latter group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that nowadays due to the enhancement of technology all people, especially young generations, have access to a wide range of information and they are more aware of the news in society and have a higher level of knowledge compared to their counterparts in the past. These all help individuals to be mature enough to make various decisions independently. Take the following personal experience as an example; when I used to choose my major for university, I got a lot of beneficial information about various majors by searching through the internet. For example, I found some articles about mechanical engineering, civil engineering, and other majors which had really helpful information about the salary and the workspace of these subjects. All of this information led me to choose civil engineering as my field of study. My father, however, since he had not had enough knowledge about different majors, had to rely on his father's experience and chose agricultural engineering while he was more interested in electrical engineering. If my father had had access to enough information about different majors, he would definitely choose another major in which he was interested instead of agriculture.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that nowadays, the approach of the educational system in schools and universities has changed and is leading students to learn practical skills. This new educational manner helps youths to be skillful enough to find out the right path when confronted with dilemmas or difficulties throughout their personal lives. Therefore, young individuals feel less need for others' help, particularly their parents, in making precise decisions as they are able to do so independently.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that today young people are less dependent on their parents in making decisions. It is because they are equipped with a rich diversity of gainful information, which can come in handy for making the right decision, and also the changes in the educational system’s approach lead them to independence.