Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

In today’s life, needing a source of earning money is undeniable, so a job plays a significant role in each person’s life. Since individuals spend a huge time at the workplace, obviously job satisfaction is an important factor that should be considered. In this line of thought, some people believe that working just three days a week prolonged can be more pleasurable for an employee, rather than working five days a week regularly. Personally speaking, I disagree with this idea for two main reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that five-day working per week with less working time gives the persons a chance to spend more time with their family, especially their kids, during each day, thereby preventing conflicts with their loved ones. Moreover, a five-day work schedule provides a situation for all family members to have the same timeframe and can enjoy their free time together. For example, while children are at school, their parents going to their 8-hour per day careers, and after work and school, all the family can gather at home and enjoy the rest of the day mutually. Allocating sufficient hours to family leads to a strong relationship among family members and overall happiness in personal life.

The second exquisite point to be mentioned is that regarding people's hectic lives, it goes without saying that all people need some time to take their mind off of work and duties, in order to reduce their stresses and work pressure. By working three days per week for long hours, individuals would face heavy pressure at the workplace, resulting in their mental and physical health damage, which plays a pivotal role in people's lives. In addition, not only will these health problems directly affect employee’s performance but also decrease the company’s outputs. So, neither the company nor the employees will have the satisfaction of this circumstance and cooperation.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that working for shorter hours during five days is more enjoyable since it provides the person a condition to spend more time with the family and it will also increase the productivity and efficiency of the job both for the person and company.