Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in the current progressive and sophisticated world where we live, the vital role of communication in success is crystal clear. In this regard, while some people assert it is better for teammates to send their messages by e-mail, others believe otherwise and claim that contacting in person is more effective for group members. In my view, I strongly support the second group for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, talking in person gives individuals a chance to exchange their ideas about a specific subject in a friendly atmosphere and specify each member’s tasks correctly. To be more specific, team members can talk about their weaknesses and strengths, and each person takes the responsibilities related to their expertise. It will enhance the performance of the group because the members do whatever they are perfect in. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, our university prepared a competition for civil engineering students among all universities of the country. Each team consisted of five students and should have built a steel bridge prototype and validated the numerical and practical analyses. After several meetings and discussions about members’ abilities, the group leader assigned each person’s roles. Due to my experience in designing steel structures for several companies, I became the project’s designer. Eventually, after a week of hardworking, our results were the most precise result of all participants. Had we not talked together about our abilities in person, we could not have won the competition and achieved our goal.

Furthermore, another equally remarkable point is that communication in person helps individuals convey their meaning without misunderstanding, leading to enhancing their relationship, which is critical in a team. Having a strong relationship between colleagues would cause a feeling that they are like a family with common goals and do their best to achieve the determined objectives. For instance, my brother works in a textile mill where the manager and employees have a solid relationship. During the current pandemic, the factory faced financial issues and could not pay the workers for a couple of months. My brother mentioned that all the workers looked at the problem as their own issue and tried to solve it as quickly as possible. Fortunately, the problem was solved very soon due to the employees’ hard work and their sacrifices. If the workers and manager had not had a good relationship, solving the problem would have been impossible in this challenging circumstance.

By taking into account all the above reasons, I believe that classmates or colleagues should communicate in person. This is because they can determine the duties according to each person’s ability, and talking together will improve their friendship.