Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a growing trend that people are getting interested in global news. Some people state that people ought to have a better understanding of the situation in the world, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the latter view for the following reasons.

To begin with, this would put additional pressure on students. College students have a lot to do in their studies and their schedules are extremely tight. For example, medical students are not only obliged to learn their major subject but also need to be involved in internships in hospitals, which will lead to spending hectic lives. If they are forced to catch up what is going on around the world, they do not have enough time to concentrate on their duties. Therefore, information collection could serve as distraction for youngsters.

Second, this could lead to unnecessary costs for people who are searching for information. To grasp the latest news, people need to invest their cash in broadcasting services such as CNN and BBC. My experience is a compelling example of what I mean. When I conducted research in my Ph.D. thesis, registration of social network services is integral to reach information, which required 100 dollars a month. Since the fee is not reasonable, I had to cut a living expense to compensate for the significant outcome. Furthermore, I could not afford to pay my tuition in the following year. Imagine that everyone needed to consume their precious budgets to pursue their curiosity, what a mess would be.

Admittedly, knowing incidents occurring in foreign countries does have merits. For instance, when I go to college, I invested my budget in stocks as a daily routine. Upheaval stock prices could be predicted thanks to references from all over the world. However, this information might be based on misleading evidence and we are frequently betrayed. Therefore, this is not a compelling theory to prove that information gathering performs positively.

In conclusion, given that understanding the world situation has a significantly unacceptable impact on our lives, we would better off focusing on news that is something to do with our lives.