Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a growing trend that sustaining friendships with a few friends is through to be effective to our education. Some people state that friendships should be established with a few people for a long time, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the former view for the following reasons.

To begin with, making countless friends would put more academic pressure on students since they have a lot to do and their schedules are extremely tight. Take students at the faculty of engineering as an example. They have to conduct not only experiments but also internships to pursue their academic success, which will lead to limiting opportunities to get to know new plentiful classmates. And, if long-lasting social activities such as orientations and parties dominate their daily lives, they cannot concentrate on their duties. To be more specific, I quit attending parties on weekends. As a result, this allowed me to concentrate on completing my assignments and my grade was dramatically ameliorated.

Second, sustaining intimate friendships with a few people will lead to a lot more success in academic fields. This is due to the fact that close friends encourage people to focus on their obligations. My experience is a compelling example of what I mean. When I was a teenager, I usually studied with Honda, who is one of my closest friends and the most talented student in my school. While learning challenging subjects in a library with him, his benevolent assistance allowed me to study efficiently. Even though there were moments of tears and disappointment since test results were not satisfying me, I could finally able to enrol in the University of Tokyo, which is one of the most well-known universities in my country.

Admittedly, plentiful friends broaden our horizons. This helps people to learn extensive knowledge from all kinds of fields, which makes it easier for people to choose their careers. For example, 4th-year university students are normally going into internships and job huntings and opt to feel anxious about unpredictable steps of their lives. Those who have an out-going personality seem to succeed in their careers. However, achievements such as publishing papers and award-winning presentations in international conferences are more indispensable in academic fields.

In conclusion, given that maintaining friendships with a few people plays a pivotal role in our lives, we had better off keeping friends for a long time.