Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should spend the same amount of money on athletic activities as they spend on university libraries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is a growing trend that universities encourage students to exercise. Some people state that they should spend their time not only studying but also doing athletic activities, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the former view for the following reasons.

To begin with, this will let students do exercise on a daily basis, which keeps students healthy. Of course, there is a chance to get injured when contacting others or twisting the ankle. However, the benefit from becoming lean is much more significant than people feeling pain for a few weeks. For example, when I was a university student, the university established a new stadium, which allowed me to play baseball with my classmates every weekend. As a result, my weight dramatically decreased by 5 kg and my body became quite healthy.

Second, this will give students opportunities to bond with their teammates. Admittedly, they sometimes have to deal with conflicts between other members of the group, which lead them to exhausted significantly. Nonetheless, they make them familiarize each other. For instance, I belonged to a soccer team when I go to college. During training, we had to follow not only the teammates’ personalities but also our weak points. Consequently, we became close.

Third, students are highly likely to get more chances for finding a job when they graduate from university. Of course, they have to conduct long-time training to win competitions, which leads them to lose time for studying or completing assignments. However, this will make it easy to work in the related fields. It is quite normal that people who have in detail of baseball can work as a coach at stadiums and people who are good at Judo could work as bodyguards. This example shows that athletic activities play a pivotal role in their following careers.

In conclusion, given that playing sports positively affects their careers and health, universities should spend their money on athletic activities.