Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is growing concern about the requirement of taking history classes for all university students. Some people state that students have to learn history even if their major is different from social science, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the former view for the following reasons.

To begin with, a glance at the historical headlines offers people a different view. Of course, they cannot afford to take irreverent subjects since they have a lot of things to do in their major fields and their schedules are extremely tight. However, this acts as a precursor to having a better understanding of the global news. For example, the past 2 decades witnessed thousands of wars and conflicts between the United States and Iraq. There were countless moments of tears and disappointments, which make us feel astonishingly terrible. Therefore, learning this tragedy leads to eliminating battles with other countries.

Second, learning previous incidents gives people an opportunity to bond with their families since the elderly’s assistance is necessary to complete the assignments in this subject. Admittedly, they are able to seek information using the Internet. Nevertheless, stories told by their grandparents are much more compelling than hearsay stories on the Web. For instance, while working on a history project, interviewing my grandparents was needed to know how our ancestors solved problems in world war 2. They told me interesting and vivid stories, which allowed me to appreciate them since we could not exist without the moments of tears and disappointment. As a result, I was really grateful to them and this made us become closer than ever before.

Third, history is tightly associated with other subjects such as geology and horticulture.

In fact, natural science is based on social science and everyone has to know the importance of this subject. Take China as an example, this country has recorded temperature and weather for a long period of time to optimize the cultivation of their crops. The past 2 centuries experience catastrophic climate change and Chinese people desperately dealt with this matter. As a result, they have in details of weather forecast and meteorology has significantly developed in the country.

In conclusion, given that joining history courses plays a pivotal role in their education, the government should encourage students to familiarize this subject.