Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a growing trend that societies require youth to follow unacceptable rules. Some people state that young people should keep rules even if they are strict, whereas others disagree with this opinion. I agree with the former view for the following reasons.

First, there is a widely held perception in my country that rules and regulations are so obsolete that everyone does not want to obey. Of course, they seemed to be reasonable when they were established. However, they are no longer practical since our societies are changing dramatically. For instance, the government determined that the minimum wage based on living expenses 30 years ago. Even though the past 2 decades witnessed significant technological and economical growth, the regulation remains the same as ever before. As a result, our salaries were stable and a long-term recession was observed.

Second, keeping needless rules puts additional pressure on university students, which will cause chronic mental disorders. This is due to the fact that the expectation to follow regulations makes them feel anxious and youngsters are easily overwhelmed. Take my brother as an example. Students in his high school were expected to follow strict regulations such as forcing all students to belong to baseball clubs and not allowing them to use bicycles. As a result, they were swamped with their obligations and this made it harder to concentrate on their studies. It goes without saying that quite a few students suffered from a long-term illness.

Third, it is well-known fact that prohibiting violent movies for teenagers has prevailed for 10 years, which resulted in deteriorating the freedom of expression. Of course, some of them will be highly likely to feel terrible when harmful scenes are broadcasted. Nevertheless, young people have the right to watch them and producers also have been guaranteed to express their opinion. For example, a study by Oxford University shows that a large number of film companies in my country moved to the U.S. This is due to the fact that the government banned filming violent movies. Consequently, theaters are dominated by simple and monotonous movies. This eventually shows how traditional rules have a negative impact on our society.

Given that strict rules astonishingly affect our lives, we should change the rules into compelling ones.