Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? it is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that will affect your daily life.

In this hectic era, people mostly face with several unanticipated events in their daily life, whether domestic or internationally. Although some of these events have consequences which are not directly related to human beings' life, some others influence people's daily life in many aspects. When it comes to this point, many people believe that being aware of various events around the world is not essential for anyone, owing to the fact that they should pay attention only to those events which can affect their daily lives. I strongly repudiate these points of view and concur with the statement that knowing world-wide events is really important. In what follows, I will delve into couple of reasons to shed light on my response.

First, it leads people to have more better social communications. In general, people try to create bonds and make relationships by starting conversations with each other. One of the best vehicles to obtain the purpose is talking about mutual events. People who do not know each other could not find any mutual issues, except world-wide events. The more the known events from all over the world, the more the established relationships between people. As I remember, having entered to my new university, named Shahid Beheshti University, I faced with several students' groups which I wished to join them, but I had not got any mutual topics to start a communication with them. Being thankful to BBC broadcast, I started a helpful conversation with one of them about current economic situation of Iran, which leads to joining them as a clever friend. Never did I find any way for being friends with them, if I were not aware of world-wide events.

Second, should people know about events occurring around the world, they can find out opportunities and threats of their future life. Undoubtedly, by paying attention to world news, people can understand the happening events, which increases abilities to predict the future regarding past events. By this, informed people can better distinguish between what factors count as possibilities for having better life, and what elements count as threats. Based on a research done by management department of Shahid Beheshti University in order to find the effects of news to people, an experiment investigated how many regular people and students use news as a reliable source of information. At the end of this experiment, all people have been given a survey to write about advantages and disadvantages of news. It was reported that among above fifty percent of all involved people who have used news as a reliable source, roughly fifty percent have written about increasing predicting skills of them. This shows that knowing occurrences around the world is really essential to people, in order to find future opportunities and threats better.

To recapitulate, we can conclude that being aware of happenings around the world is an essential part of each people’s life. It is because by this strategy, people not only have better social communications but also, can find out future opportunities and threats easier. I strongly propose that people who want to improve these two aspects of his/her life, should work on knowing more about world-wide occurrences.