Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Surfing on the Internet, Clicking on the mouse, a great amount of information will display on our computer screen within seconds, which means we, young adults, can receive the latest news way easier than people who lived in the 60s. Some people believe they only need to know some information which is relevant to their daily life. However, I think it is important to know about events even if it will not likely to affect our daily life. My reasons are as follows.

Firstly, it is hard to tell which events will affect our daily life simply because we cannot predict the future. Steve Jobs, the former CEO of the apple company, made a well-known speech at the graduation ceremony of Standford University, saying that we should connect the dots. He mentioned that during his college life, he showed no interest in the courses in his major but was devoted himself to all kinds of activities related to calligraphy. These events didn't affect his college life at all because he did not end up as a calligrapher. However, years after he left the university, the knowledge that he learned from the lectures helps him create the most elegant fonts in the Mac, which made him a successful artist and leader of Apple. Accordingly, it is difficult to distinguish which events around the world will affect our daily life, it might be useful in the future when you connect the dots.

Secondly, even some activities happening around the world seem not affecting your present daily life, they will still have some potential influence on you. For example, I heard the news about the Iraq wars on TV around 2005. How could a war which happened over 2000 miles away affect my daily life? No doubt I still waked up as usual and dealt with my daily affairs. Yet my father is a huge fan of politics who is willing to watch International news all day long. Thus, I noticed the real-time news by listening to the sounds coming from the TV. After several days, my father told me he made a great deal of money by investing the gold. "If there's a war, there's always a demand for more golds, which means people are seeking a safe investment. All of these lead to a surge in the gold price." I always remember my father told me so at that time. At last, I realize that there is no such thing that irrelevant to our daily life. We all live in the Earth village and everything will affect our life, obviously or potentially.

In sum, as the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly support we should know events happening in this world even if it's unlikely to affect our daily life.