Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Is it true that it is important to know about irrelevant events happening around the world? When it comes to this question, the answers vary from individual to individual. Some argue that those events will not affect our lives, so it is not necessary to know, while others think that it is our duty to know what is happening around. Both the opposite arguments appear to be convincing and stand to reason, yet my personal experience and real-life observations have led me to conclude that it is definitely crucial to know what''s happening in the world.

To begin with, knowing such events to an extent can help us to begin a conversation with other people. With that knowledge, we will have more topics to discuss with others, which will make us seem like a wise person. Or else, when meeting with other people, it will be very difficult to be chatty. Take my experience as an example, that I was really fond of reading magazines about all fields, including science, literature, and even politics. Because of this hobby, I can easily come up with a topic to start a talk with others. On the contrary, without that information, the conversation could have ended awkwardly.

Secondly, the events happening around the world can sometimes be important when we need to travel. In other words, if we are going to a foreign country, we will even encounter danger without knowing those incidents. For instance, some countries in Europe may have protests arising, if we are aware of this news, then we can avoid going to those areas. However, if we do not know anything about it, then we might end up being hurt by some radical protesters.

Last but not least, knowing those events can also help us when we are going to take a life-changing exam. Exams often have questions relative to some events happening in the world. If we keep an eye on those, this can effectively aid us when we are thinking about the answers. Once I was taking the most important exam in high school, I encountered a question that I once read about in the magazine. It surprisingly helped me to get rather good grades.

In conclusion, given the reasons above, I strongly believe that we should always be aware of what''s happening in the world. That is not to say that the other opinions are completely out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe my points of view I have provided are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.