Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I definitely agree with the idea that we should grasp what is going on around the world, no matter how unlikely it affects our daily lives. I have three reasons to support my viewpoint, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, we are not living in a confined community. I am a university student and tackling a specific research in the field of neuroscience. However, it goes without saying that I should interact with other people than researchers and sustain my relationships. Keeping in touch with various people involves communicating with them and talking about the events happening not only around us but also around the globe. In order to keep up with the conversation, it might be beneficial to know what is happening around the world every day.

Another reasons is that we can brace ourselves for a future crisis. Take the case of global warming. It seemingly does not have any connection to our daily lives, but actually, it has a significant effect. In fact, I have heard that if temperature rises by one degree, the sea level rises by three centimeters, which means our land is diminishing year by year. Warm temperature means that we cannot live without an air conditioner. In my country, it is unbelievably hot because of the scorching sun, which makes air conditioners inevitable every day. Therefore, understanding things happening around the world is crucial.

Finally and most importantly, what is going on in other places may have a significant contribution to our daily lives. For example, most of the vegetables are imported in my country. Then, what if the shipping container wrecked? What if a famine or a war occurs in the producing country? The answer to all these questions is evident. The prices surge, or worse, we cannot have sufficient intake of nutrients, leading us to diseases such as scurvy. In fact, there are a myriad of chances where we might affected by events in a far remote area. Whereas the development in transportation system has enabled us to connect the distant places, it has possibly induced butterfly effects. That means a single event could cause a huge impact on the worldwide economy.

For those three reasons, I am convinced that we should know about things that is happening worldwide. Understanding them will undoubtedly enrich our lives.