Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, jobs have become part of humans’ daily routines. In other words, our society developed so that people had to choose a career to survive. Some experts believe that jobs should bring joy in life; therefore, they suggest that five days a week are more suitable than three days a week with extended hours, while others hold precisely the opposite perspective. I subscribe to the view that working three days a week with longer hours is better. I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, working three days a week would let people organize their life’s schedule beneficially. Generally speaking, most of the employees do not have enough time to take care of other tasks of their life during the week. While their jobs are holding them from other activities, being frustrated, such as working out, shopping, and so on, they are expected to be more active and socially involved in various events. For example, my sister attending her workplace only three days a week which lets her hit the gym on her off-days, and besides, she can cook some proper food during the week. There is no doubt that in those three days employees would be seriously exhausted but, in this way, they can provide themselves more exciting life.

Secondly, families and kids have a prominent role in each one’s life, and without them, life would be meaningless, and it can bring emptiness. Although people would have time to spend with their families even in five days of the week, it is noteworthy that being tired does not let them enjoy this companionship. In three days a week jobs, they can rest during the night, and then they would be able to take their children to other places like playgrounds, amusement parks, picnics, etc. For instance, when I was a little kid, I remember my father was a firefighter; he had to take his shifts on particular days a week, and rest of the week, he took us to nature and played with us. It had a significant effect on him which was his striking demeanor. The results from having such a career can affect people’s mental health and happiness considerably.

Lastly, it is notable that people have been adapted to this routine for a long time, even in our ancestors. They have organized their lives by this procedure, and it is hard to change suddenly. Besides, working three days a week for extended hours would make employees tired, affecting their passion for the job. According to a study, pressure reduction and increasing joy in the work environment cannot be obtained by reducing the workdays. Five days a week can spread work’s stress through days of a week which is more reasonable than being pressure in three days with long hours.

In conclusion, there are several factors that contribute to a job’s enjoyable space. Each of them has its pros and cons, and the decision should be held on employee’s choice and their CEOs.