Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Friends are a vital part of our life, that influence what we are today and what we will be tomorrow. Personally, I concur with the given statement that it is important to keep our old friends than to create a new one.

First of all, It is very hard to secure a close friend. To be close with someone there should be similarities in behavior and thinking of each other. My own personal experience is a compelling case of this point. When I was in high school, I had a hard time making friends who were comparable to me and who understand my feeling. Even so, I made a friend who has similar thinking and taste as I have. Of course, there can be many friends who are connected through different activities in our life like studying in school, playing a game and so on. I believe that it takes time for this friend to be attached closely to our life.

Secondly, It takes a long time to establish a strong bond with a friend. It can be easy to make companions whom we meet just by hanging out for a while. However, For these friends to be the best of all need to have a powerful bond. For example, My brother has got a friend who is always together with him for more than 5 or 6 years. I have seen them hanging out together from going to school to trek in the holiday. I think that they have been so close because of the strong bond they have established for a long period in their life. I can say without a doubt that if my brother tries to make a new friend then, it will be tricky for him to find the one like his best friend.

Finally, Friends creates a great influence on our life. It is said that we are the average of 5 peoples that are close to us in our life. To illustrate the example of this, let’s take an impact on me because of friends I have in the technology industry. Being a software developer, I have got best friends who are involved in the tech industry as well. Having a friend who has a similar goal in life has urged me to move forward in my life to pursue my dream.

In Conclusion, It is crucial in our life to keep our old friends who keep on supporting us rather than making a new one. Admittedly, We are free to create new friends but, as of now, we know that it takes a long time for us to find the right friend who bonds with us utterly. So, I am of the mind that it is essential to keep our old friends than to make a new friend.