Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having friends is one of the important characteristics of social people. When you are in a modern society you have communication with a lot of people which create opportunity to make friendships. Some people keep their friends for several years but others make new friends. In my opinion, keeping old friends is more important than making new friends for two important reasons.

The main reason is that old friends know each other better than new friends. When your friend knows about your traits and characteristics, he can help you better during your difficulties and also he will try to not bother you because he/or she knows how to treat you. For example, during university studies I made some good friendships that I keep them until today. After more than ten years being together we know each other well and give a hand in any situation. I remember that two years ago when I was supposed to buy a car I couldn’t gather enough money to buy my favorite sport car, and so I decided to buy a typical car instead. When one of my old knew about my money problem with a background that I like sport cars he lent me some money to buy my favorite car without my request. As you see, old friends can you help you in a condition that you don’t anticipate any help, because they know your traits and characteristics.

Another reason is that you can trust old friends more. Based on experience you have gotten in your relationship you know that how much you can trust your friend. Having a friend which you can count on him, gives you a powerful confidence in your life. For instance, last year one of my close friends came to me and said about his problem which he couldn’t share it with other friends and also family members. Because the problem was about his relationship with a girl that no one was knowing about her. He told me his problem and I tried to help him to pass the challenges. This example illustrates that keeping old friends that you can trust them could be your leverage.

In conclusion, I believe that although making new friends is significantly important, having your old friends by your site is even more important. The old friends know your traits and characteristics and can give a hand in many, many ways, and also You can trust them which you can share your particular or secret problems. Finally I feel that good old and new friends are the most effective people in our life which we must be meticulous about choosing them.