Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People today spend a lot of time with their friends, and whether they rather invest their time in making new friends or keeping the older ones depends on thier personality and enviroment. In my opinion, it is more important and beneficial to keep your old friends. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in this essay.

To begin with, old friends can help eachother with life choices better than new friends.They most likely come from one's childhood or the time of youth. Therefore, these old friends have grown up together and evolved into the people they are today. This means childhood friends know each other very well. They know each other's weaknesses, strenght, skills and capabilities. As a result they can help each other with life decisions and problems. I will illustrate my point through an example. When my brother finally managed to get to his dream job, he found himself unsatisfyed dispite spending his whole life to reach that position. He was very confused about whether he should continue working in that position or not. He tried consulting with his coworkers and friends. In the end he confessed that his childhood friend John was the person who helped him make up his mind. John knew my brother so well that he warned him about how he can't continue doing something he doesn't love. On the other hand, My brother's new friends though he could carry on with the unsatisfying job since they saw him as a hardworking person. But John knew he was hardworking up to that point in life, only because he was striving to get something he aspires.

Secondly, the longer you know someone, the more trust you can build with them. keeping old friends, people who are proved to be honest and truthful, can benefit us through adulthood. My personal experience with this, is a strong reason why I feel that keeping older friends is more beneficial that making new ones. I was suddenly asked by my boss to go on a bussines trip to Paris and I desperatly needed some one to take care of my kids. First I tried to ask my coworker ,whom we were also friends outside work, for the faver, but she refused. At the time I didn't know why but later on I found out that she wanted me to fail in finding someone for help so eventually she could go on the Paris trip instead of me. Although, I had trusted this person she didn't hesitate to stab me in the back ,and all because I didn't have enough time to figure out this person's true colors.

In conclusion, I strongly believe one should focus more on keeping a long lasting relationship with her older friends that making new ones. I feel this way because older friends know each other very well and can help each other with life choices, and because they are more trustworthy.