Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is make new friends.

We meet a lot of people throughout our lives. We stay connected to most of them for only a short period of time, while others continue to be with us even after we have actually moved to the next phase of our lives. We often make friends out of people who share common interests with us and seem reliable. So it is only natural that we tend to look for acquaintances or friends to the new places we go to. While I agree that we should try to make new contacts, I feel it is very important to keep your old friends as well. I feel so for a couple of reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with our old friends have known us for a very long time. They have seen some of the best and worst phases of our lives and how did we survive through them. They know our happiest moments, our priorities and even our worst impulses. They have an exact idea of how we tend to react to a certain situation and that is because they have been with us through all of it. So whenever I am in need of some advice or even some consolation, I always turn to one of my older friends. They always give me the right suggestion and often have the best way to cheer me up. While an immediate friend may also be able to help me out, he/she would not be knowing me very well. So it is kind of difficult for them to help in such personal matters.

Secondly, the people who have stayed with us longer tend to gain our trust and confidence. We also find them more reliable and trustworthy. They have stayed with us through thick and thin which automatically implies that they care about us and would not just give away sensitive information about us. I remember when I was in school, one of my closest friends had failed in one of the subjects. She had told this to me and one of the other students whom she considered as her friend. But the other student spread word about it to everyone and my friend felt very embarrassed. Eventually she lost my friend's trust.

Another reason why I feel that older friends are to be kept closer is because they have proved their friendship to you. It is now our time to do the same for them, be there for them as they have been there for you always. Such close friends are also our first preferences for emergency contacts or even roommates in some cases.

So in conclusion I would like to say that, while it is very exciting to meet new people and get to know them, treasuring the people who have always stayed with us is more important.