Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

There are several things that we do in a day that makes our day productive and enjoyable at the same time. While fun and enjoyment may be relative to all of us, being able to engage in any hobby or fun activity is something we all look up to. Having said that I feel young people do enjoy life more than old people. I feel this way for a couple of reasons that I'll explore in the following paragraphs.

First is independence be it physical or financial. In order to do what you like or in order to fully enjoy an activity one needs to independent. For example I enjoy playing badminton a lot. I am a regular at my community court and I often drive my car to get there. I am not just independent in terms of my travel means but I can also afford to pay the membership fees. This may not be the case with an older individual from my community. They might have to find some one to take them to the court always and hence would have to compromise on the no of visits.

Second is fitness and overall body strength. I feel most young people manage to stay fit even with a little exercise. They have more vigour and stamina when it comes to playing outdoor sports or doing any outdoor activities. My own grandfather used to be a hiker in his young days. Back then he had the fitness levels to climb the most difficult cliffs very easily. But the same id not possible now. No wonder how much he still loves it but engaging in such a rigorous hiking is not suitable for his health.

In addition to these I also believe that freewill is an important factor in how we lead our lives. Youngsters can do whatever they like without having to worry much about other things. For instance, if I wish I can spend more time at a concert even if it means that I may have to stay up late to finish my homework. Moreover I am confident that I'll manage my tasks in time because of my agility. But it is hard to believe that old people can have much say in what they want to do next. Their schedules are usually tightly bound with their health concerns and responsibilities.

So in my opinion as young people are more accessible to the things they enjoy and are free to make their own decisions, they enjoy their lives more than older people do.