Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

In this world of media and technology, one can hardly find someone who has not seen a TV ad. Be it a small household item or the fanciest car on the market, it can't go without featuring in an advertisement. Same with us humans. From the toddlers to the old, everyone is fascinated by these ads and many would also like to be a part of one. But I believe that there should be some restrictions on these ads especially with respect to the audience they are meant for. Children especially should not be exposed to them, be it watching an ad or acting in it.

Firstly, watching the television for long hours is bad for these children. They are too small to even understand most of what is being shown to them. In such scenarios, a fancy ad may tempt them to watch even more TV. The more they indulge in watching these ads, the less time they spend doing other activities. Many children often loose track of what they were doing when their favorite ad is being aired. The biggest example of this is children forgetting to eat while watching TV. Children are also very naive to understand the difference between reality and fiction. A lot of times, children ask their parents to get them a very fictional thing they saw. I remember my little cousin once asked her parents for a unicorn and they had a really hard time convincing her that it was not real. Such stubborness if instilled in such a tender age may hamper the child's personality.

Moreover, to draw attention of toddlers, ad directors cast babies of the same age in the ads. This trick works amazingly well, as they are quite delighted to see someone just like them on TV. While this may gain many views for the ad, it is not beneficial for the children who act in it. AD/ film sets are no place for such small children, they could easily hurt themselves. Also they sometimes have to stay away from their parents for very long hours, hence depriving them of their love and attention.

So no matter how amazing a child looks in an ad or how much she/he enjoys it, I do not think it is a good idea, to expose children to the world of television advertisements.