Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I believe that old friends are important to keep as they know us from very long time, we can share anything we want to. We can take any life advice from them because we believe in them. However, old friends are important but meeting new people and make them our friend is also important for many reasons.

Firstly, old friends are your best friends and you can share deepest and darkest part of your life with them. Moreover, in maany hard times you can ask them for help and their help. This is because we do believe in them. Whenever I face any difficulty in my life and if I am not able to tackle that, I take help from my old friend. I remember when I graduated, I did not have job and for that reason I was depressed. I talked about this with him and he gave me a book titled "secrets" which is about the law of attraction. That book helped me to come out of depression and gave enough motivation to keep hustling for job. After some days i got job because of that hard work.

To meet new people and befriend them is also a good thing since it is highly probable that them are from different part of the country or continent, culture, race. Because of this diversity we can learn their cultural values and we can adapt what is good in their culture but the old friend can also have different culture and we can learn so much from them. I have a Jain friend, in their culture they ask for forgiveness at the end of every year by saying "michhami dukkadam" which basically translates to please forgive me if i have hurt you. Even when they have not done anything wrong they say this so that the misunderstanding between people can be removed. Thus, by keeping your old friend you can learn a lot from them.

In contrast to my opinion, new people at work can help you with your work. I agree that some of my old friends do not share the same acedamic background as me thus they can not help me in my work related to software developement. Indeed, old friend might not help me in software developement but there are some life skills that they can teach us for example, I have a friend who taught me about investing in stock market which helped me to understand the deep meaning of saving and investing for future. It also explained me how it will help in bad economic conditions in life. Thus, we can also learn many skills from old friends.

A myriad of exaples discussed above shows that new people are good to have but keeping your old friends is more important.