Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which one is worth our tax money, better Internet access or improved public transportation. While some tech fanatics may dictate that the Internet is the priority, numerous facts and realities point toward the direction that public transportation is the more crucial one at the present moment.

Traffic has always been a headache for large cities; it creates chaos and waste valuable time of the commuters. Cape Town, for instance, is notorious for its rush hour traffic. Every morning, people from the suburbs need to travel over an hour in order to reach the city center, when it will only require merely 20 minutes if there were no traffic. If the government put in effort to improving transportation, such as constructing subways or organizing more buses, it would save these poor commuters plenty of time.

Furthermore, government spending on public transportation can reduce the public's spending on transportation. The car, for example, costs an average person a considerable amount of money. There are taxes, fuel, and repair costs involved in owning and using a car. If public transportation becomes convenient and low-cost, people will tend to shift towards this option and save money.

Also, public transportation reduces air pollution. Studies have proven that a bus carrying 20 people produces far less exhaust than 10 cars carrying 2 persons each. Government investments in public transportation can facilitate the reduction of the use of personal vehicles and in turn make the city's air more breathable.

Nevertheless, supporter of the Internet may claim that everything can be done over the Internet; therefore, the internet should be improved first. This camp demonstrates that activities such as shopping can now be done online, thus there is no urgent need for much physical transportation. However, they did not take into the consideration that the goods purchased online still need to be collected or shipped via physical transportation. Although there is drone technology used by companies like Amazon that can deliver these good efficiently without using traditional transportation, this technology has not yet been widely implemented. So until then, public transportation is the priority.

In conclusion, it can be clearly identified that government spending on public transportation has multi-faceted benefits while improving the Internet access does not provide as much actual benefits as of now. Public transportation can reduced time wastage, pollution, and transportation costs. If we were ever to focus on improving the internet, it would probably be some time in the future, not now.