Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes without saying that developments in technology have changed our world dramatically, in the way people spend their time. Transportation is the one of many other things which technology, especially the internet, has altered. While many think that government should spend money to improve public transportation, I personally believe that it is more beneficial for the government and the society, to improve internet access. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are illustrated in the following paragraphs.

The most important reason is that by a better access to internet, desire for a more improved public transportation would be decreased. As a matter of fact, in the past, people had to go to places where their desires would be satisfied, so everyday lots of people transport from one city to another, or from one part of the city to another part of it, to complete their affairs. However, many internet sites offer their visitors that they can satisfy costumers' desires while there was no need to change their place. Consequently, better access to internet, would make it possible for people to do their affairs by using these kind of services. As a result, less public transportation would be desired. To put it into a more vivid picture, a new website has started its activities to help passengers to find a place such as hotel or motel before their arrival. These website, present photos of the available rooms in hotels and offer very lower prices than the hotel itself. By this the passengers could reserve their suitable rooms before their trip and does not need to check hotels in order to find an available and affordable room after their arrival, hence they will not need improved public transportation to carry them easily.

Furthermore, the government could increase its tax revenue from developing internet based companies, by improving internet access. In other words, more people have started to use internet services which companies offer. The number of internet based transactions will be increased in following years, due to that people enjoy electronic transactions. Subsequently, the government could get more money from taxes on these transactions. As a result, the money that was spent to improve internet access will compensate, and even this money could be used to improve internet access further. For illustration, I personally prefer to purchase in internet shops which offer more services than regular shops, and every time I buy an object, I have to pay my taxes as well as the internet shop must.

In summary, taking all this into account, I personally do believe that it is more beneficent for the government itself and the society to spend more money on improving internet access. Less need to transport and the increase in government revenue are my reasons for holding such opinion.