Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a good sense of humor?

Recently there is a ton of debate on what characteristic is more important when making friends. Personally, I am of the opinion that we should choose those people who have a sense of humor as friends. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will discuss in this essay.

First of all, spending time with people with a sense of humor can help us release stress. As we all know, people nowadays have to deal with different kinds of tedious staff in their daily life, such as work, social connection, family issue. Consequently, they are prone to suffer from stress and anxiety. A humorous friend provides an outlet for people to address those problems, because he can always find a way to entertain others. For example, when I tried to find a job after graduating from college, I was so stressed out as all the available positions were quickly taken, and I chose to avoid talking to anybody else. Knowing this, my friend Jack came over immediately and tried his best to cheer me up with his sense of humor. With is companion and all the funny experience he provided, I felt relaxed and confident after a while. I am sure if Jack had not come, I would not be able to make it.

Secondly, people with sense of humor always put others’ interest first. Humorous people usually are passionate about life, and they often have the urges to help others. In contrast, intelligent people usually think of themselves first, which means they are more likely to be selfish. For example, I used to have a friend in high school, who was always at the top rank in the class. I once asked him for help with my math, because I got difficulties in understanding calculus. Being afraid that I would do better in the final exam, he refused. Therefore, I believe humorous people are better choice for friends.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that it is better to make friends with people who have sense of humor instead of intelligent ones. This is because they can help others relax and because they are less selfish.