Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a good sense of humor?

Recently there is a ton of debate on what characteristic is more important when making friends. Personally, I am of the opinion that we should choose those people who have a sense of humor as friends. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will discuss in this essay.

First of all, spending time with people with a sense of humor can help us release stress. As we all know, people nowadays have to deal with different kinds of tedious staff in their daily life, such as work, social connection, family issue. Consequently, they are prone to suffer from stress and anxiety. A humorous friend provides an outlet for people to address those problems, because he can always find a way to entertain others. For example, when I tried to find a job after graduating from college, I was so stressed out as all the available positions were quickly taken, and I chose to avoid talking to anybody else. Knowing this, my friend Jack came over immediately and tried his best to cheer me up with his sense of humor. With is companion and all the funny experience he provided, I felt relaxed and confident after a while. I am sure if Jack had not come, I would not be able to make it.

Secondly, people with sense of humor are usually easy to get along with. Humorous people are usually passionate about life, and they often have the urges to socialize with others. In contrast, intelligent people who usually focus on personal achievements, are more likely to neglect others’ feeling. For example, if a student made a silly mistake during an important exam and felt really frustrated, a friend with sense of humor would tries his best to help him to get over with it, while an intelligent friend would criticize him for being so careless, which would upset him even more. As we can see, people feel more comfortable when they are around with humorous friends.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that it is better to make friends with people who have sense of humor instead of intelligent ones. This is because they are helpful for relaxation and because they easy to get along with.