Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on whether opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than the older people. Personally, I am of the opinion that opinions of celebrities have more impact on younger people. I think of this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, children are more likely to be influenced by perspectives of celebrities. Obviously, since younger people have spent most of their life at school, they do not have enough experience in real word and lack the ability of critical thinking. Therefore, they have the tendency to follow the fashion, which is usually defined by famous people, while older people who have been practiced in the society for a long time, usually make decisions based on their own thoughts. This is best demonstrated by a study conducted by Peking university which is a top ranked institution in China. The result shows that more than half of younger people in the city believes that they must follow and support their idols without judgement. As we can see, how easily children can be impacted by opinions they received.

Secondly, young children get the information from the Internet far more than the old generation. To be more specific, nowadays the words said by celebrities are usually transmitted via Internet instead of newspapers, which means young people have more chance to access to the quotations of the celebrities and get affected by them. Meanwhile, virus videos created plenty of stars online and the group targets of these videos are the young people. Not to mention that old generation may not even know how to know these new app such as Tik Tok.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that younger people are prone to be influenced by opinions of celebrities. This is because children do not have enough experience to prevent being affected by others and because they received far more opinions of celebrities than the elders.