Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a good sense of humor.

In this modern day and age and all its social complexities, it is critical for individuals to choose their circle of friends wisely so that they can make the most out of their life. The importance in this regard often leads to serious controversies such as whether befriending intelligent people serves us the best or people with a good sense of humor. Although there is no definite answer to this question since it is after all a matter of preference, I utterly subscribe to this idea that perhaps a combination of both works the best. To discuss this, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, spending time with intelligent people can make you a smart person over time, and who doesn’t consider intelligence a value? It comes naturally for friends to spend most of their time together putting the family aside. During these times, people chat, exchange ideas, and sometimes make meaningful discussions and learn. As a consequence, it is very likely for them to become more and more similar to each other. When individuals choose their friends out of intelligent people, they automatically having their thinking patterns changed and eventually become smart people just like them. As a famous proverb states: “If you hang out with a group of five wisemen, the sixth will be you.” This paints a vivid portrait of the importance of spending time with smart people so that you’ll be able to harness your potential intelligence and channel your innate thinking capabilities to the surface.

Furthermore, spending time with people with a sense of humor can help you to unwind your stress and give your mind a sense of relief. Laughing is associated with peace of mind. To put it differently, the more you laugh, the less you suffer from worrying about daily stuff. Laughing can serve individuals as a great escapist to avoid the dire consequences of living your life in a fast lane. Recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yielded several statistics one of which suggests that people who laugh more are not only expected to live thirty-five percent longer than those who barely does, but also are less at risk of being diagnosed with mental health disorders such as depression and generalized anxiety. The outcomes of this research clearly demonstrate that befriending with funny individuals with a sense of humor can lead you towards living a more fulfilling and desirable life.

To wrap it up, contemplating what was discussed above, I am of the strong conviction that having friends from both groups of intelligent people and people with sense of a humor is the perfect recipe for an enjoyable life. This is because hanging out with intelligent people can make you intelligent as well and because joking around with funny people can improve your mental health and longevity.