Do you agree that people easily learn from the friends beside them? Use specific examples and evidences to support your answer.

In this modern day and age, it is critically important for individuals to pay attention to their circle of friends. The importance in this regard often leads to serious controversies such as whether people easily learn from the friends beside them or not. Though there is no definite answer to this question, I utterly subscribe to this idea that indeed people learn from their friends with whom they spend their time. To support this, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are discussed in detail in the following.

First and foremost, often people go through meaningful discussions and exchange ideas with their friends. it comes naturally for individuals to spend most of their time with their friends putting the family aside. Therefore, it is very likely for them to be under the influence of their friends. It is no secret that our thinking patterns are always subjected to change and since we talk with our friends the most, our chances of learning from them increase. To put it more differently, the more we spend time with certain people, the more likely it is for us to learn from and as a consequence be similar to them. Recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yielded several statistics one of which suggests that people who are even related to each other to a very little extent, are capable of learning from each other’s significant experiences the most if they befriend each other.

Furthermore, when human beings have affection towards their beloved ones, their friends, for example, their words, behaviors, and logics grow in importance. To put it more differently, people will pay more attention to everything associated with their friends. This stems from the fact that they are the ones for whom they care the most. What their friends say and what they go through means a lot to them. Take my personal experience as compelling evidence of this. Some time ago, back in the days of college, I had a friend that I loved and valued so much. During that time, I was suffering from depression but apparently, no one was able to find a cure for me, not even my parents. Then this lifetime friend got to know about my condition and stepped up to the plate to help me overcome the battle by giving me life-changing advice. Since I really liked him and really believed in him, I genuinely absorb his recommendations and tried to practice them as much as I can. To my surprise, it worked. Had I not had this much love towards this very friend, I would not have been able to overcome the downward spiral of depression.

To wrap it up, contemplating on the above, I am of the strong conviction that people will easily learn from their friends beside them. It is because they spend most of their time together and it is normal to make impacts on each other and thus, learn from each other, and because when people have a love for each other, as it is in friends, the way they behave or talk or think becomes very important to them and consequently, they would unconsciously affect each other.