Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A leader should have a strong opinion and should not change his or her mind.

“A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way and shows the way.” To enhance leader’s ability, there are many ways can be employed. In terms of leader’s opinion, what is the best choice for them? Among the following statement, I would totally disagree that a leader should have a strong view and not change their mind.

To begin with, if leaders listen to other’s advice, it can help leaders to discover the problem. Take me for example. I work in the coffee shop, and there are full of customers during the lunch time which makes us a lot of mess. Hence, I told to my manager that if we could hire more clerks that we can definitely focus on our jobs in our position. Eventually, my manager took my advice and the operation of coffee shop is no longer in such rush. Therefore, hearing others idea can realize where the problem is.

Moreover, discussion often leads to a better consequence. To be more exact, an excellent leader will discuss the target with other company’s supervisors and team members to determine the final policy, and the result generally would be benefit. On the other hand, if a leader insists his or her mind and do not want to accept other’s view, the result of decision will be highly risky.

Last but not least, listening to follower’s opinion can make them to have more motivation in works. To be more concise, some leaders will ask their employee’s suggestion to decide the ultimate way of doing things. For instance, I read a time magazine’s statistic shows that if the supervisor adopts the staff’s recommendation, 87% of the staffs will be more ambitious than before and will achieve their goal more efficient.

In brief, due to the reasons described above, I am positive that a successful leader should depend on the different kind of things to change their thought.