Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Modern technology is creating a single world culture. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Modern technology has been pivotal in improving our lives. Because of technology, we have better healthcare, faster communication, improved education and the list goes on. Despite its benefits, some people believe that technology has harmed worldwide culture, replacing it with a single world culture. With globalization, it is inevitable that cultures around the world should change, but I do not believe we have reached a point where we can say that a single world culture exists.

As I have said, it is undeniable that technology has had some impact on culture around the world. For example, people use the English language in order to be able to communicate online. Having a language that is universally understood by most people aids in online conversations. In many South Asian countries, people, especially younger generations, have taken up English as their primary language as it eases communication. It has come to a point that even locals communicate in English or a mixture of English and their mother-tongue. This is how we are endangering our native languages.

That being said, I believe that technology has not fully damaged global cultures. Customs tend to evolve as times and general beliefs change. But most traditions such as national and religious holidays are still the same in many countries. The way they are celebrated have not changed much over the years.

I also believe that technology can help save culture in many ways, such as preserving art, history and languages. For example, many museums make use of technology to digitize documents that can be hard to read in their original format. I also read somewhere about a woman creating an app to enable people from her country to learn a language that has been nearly forgotten.

All in all, technology has changed the world we live in thus changing culture and cultural values. However, its impact has not been so great that we can say we live in a single culture world. The same technology that is harming cultures can help save it too. With so many people, especially from the younger generations, adamant on saving their culture, it is unlikely that we see a future where we would have a single global culture.