•Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The more money people have, the more they should contribute to charity.

A glance at people’s attitude toward contribution of money to charities, bring to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether wealthier people must help more or not. Although some people may think that the more money you have, the more you should give to poor people, my opinion is completely opposite, and I believe that this claim is not true at all.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea, lies in the fact that rich people have a lot of responsibilities and they have to pay for a lot more things. For example, even though a doctor makes more money, s/he has to pay for the office, nurses, secretaries and bills. S/he helps society through her/his knowledge and treat people when they are sick. After a while, he can invest his money to have a more beautiful clinic with better equipment which are necessary for his job. Therefore, we cannot anticipate wealthy people donate their money because they have more money.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that contribution to charity is not the main way to help society. For example, an entrepreneur creates a lot of jobs for citizens which has enormous economical advantages for a country. Likewise, If a businessman just helps poor people and buy food for them, it will not diminish poverty. There is a proverb in our language which is “instead of giving fish to a person, teach him how to catch fish.” Countries with excellent welfare, have profound economy which comes from very low unemployment rate and poverty. If the budget be spent on critical issues include improving education, attracting tourists, increasing of wellbeing and creating democracy, residents are happier. Not only is spending money for poor people wrong, but also it causes more famine. Hence, giving money to charity will not resolve all the problems a country encounter.

Admittedly, if individuals do not help enough to charities, some people will die as a consequence. As a matter of fact, food is one of the basic needs of humankind. Nobody can amend a country’s situation when its people are hungry. Nevertheless, the amount of contribution is not necessarily proportionate to individual’s income. For example, if an attorney salary is ten times more than a clerk, we cannot expect to donate ten times more.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I strongly assert that we cannot ask a millionaire to donate his money to a charity because he has more money.