Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the most important problems of society can be solved during our life time.

With the development of technology and science, people's living standard has risen a lot. However, along with this improvement, there is an increasing number of problems concerned with society is attracting individuals' attention. Some pessimists hold the point that the most significant social problems cannot be solved in their lifespan. On the contrary, some optimists believe that we are able to overcome every obstacle in life. From my point of view, I agree with the latter group of people who the government is taking action to improve employment and protect the environment.

First, the government enacts new policies to improve employment, which exerts an irreplaceable influence on modern society. Nowadays in China, college students are facing the grim reality that they would meet fierce competition when they hunt for a job after graduation. Although they would make the most of a variety of opportunities and resources to enrich themselves, there are not enough posts to meet so many graduates. Thus, political leaders adopt various measures to improve the situation. For one thing, our political leaders make some policies to encourage government departments and companies to recruit fresh graduates. For another, providing graduates with a variety of chances and funds by local government to motivate them to start-up a business, which benefits them to put what they have learned in college into practice. Therefore, there is every reason to believe that employment problems can be solved by the aid of the government.

Moreover, the government bears social responsibility so that it is obliged to protect the environment when people suffer from environmental problems. Taking a glimpse of the current situation, extensive constructions in urban and rural areas eventually undermines the eco-system. On the one hand, exhausted gas emitted by factories and private cars intensifies haze in large cities. As a result, citizens are more likely to have respiratory diseases, such as cough and pneumonia. On the other hand, wastewater pollutes water provided for the growth of certain crops. Efficient policies can be launched such as restrictions of traffic and limitations towards industrial emission with the purpose of improving living surroundings. The force from the restrictions cannot reach the goal immediately, but the strength can be enormous if we put consistent efforts on environmental protection.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate my standpoint that various outstanding problems can be solved during people's life span. I feel this for two main reasons; the government's action in dealing with employment and the environment are good examples.