Do you agree or disagree with the following statement : Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Past decades have witnessed an unprecedented boom in the media industry. Nowadays, with the prosperity of the media industry, people are attaching greater importance to keeping up-to-date with the latest news in different ways. Some people claim that media are less precise today owing to a desire to gain high profits, thus causing more social problems to the public. However, my view is apart from them that I believe the current coverage is more accurate than before.

In the first place, the supervision from the government ensures the accuracy of the free content. Once there is some misleading information published whether, in the newspaper or online, the established laws would punish the relating publishers. To illustrate, in China, everyday views have depicted a tremendous number of persuasive scenes. I still remember the fake news, which was widespread between Chinese on WeChat, the most popular social media in China. It said that there would be a disastrous earthquake in Southwest of China on December 10th. But this prediction turned to be ridiculous because nothing happened on that day. As a result, the government imposed a severe punishment on that misleading author. In contrast to the past, the Chinese government has not published such strict regulations in the media realm.

Furthermore, equipped with a vast range of knowledge, people can distinguish right and wrong. To be more specific, in China, since the early 20th century, the government has been implementing nine-year compulsory education that requires local government to set budgets for covering the expenses of elementary schools and junior high school. Under this circumstance, people have opportunities to learn critical thinking, which indicates they would not do astray in front of incorrect information. Besides, due to the prevalence of the Internet, people have access to searching experts' explanations when they are susceptible or unsure about the news. Whereas, people in the past only believed things they heard and saw because authority explanations were unavailable for them, which made biased news spreading quickly.

To sum up, I would reiterate my standpoint that media reports are more accurate than before. One reason is the government's strict regulations and laws. Another reason is people's ability to critically thinking is improved.