Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (aged five to ten) should be

required to study art and music in addition to math,

science, history and language.

Modern educators have realized the importance of building and using a well-rounded teaching curriculum to help children promote broader understanding and appreciation of this world. I feel that this is essential for young children aged five to ten to give them art classes. because this will equip and prepare these children for a bright and prosperous life in the future.

A key ingredient for elementary and secondary education is communication. Proper communication allows people to understand peers and logically articulate thoughts and emotions. Subjects like art and music are, in fact, the methods of communication. For example, a performing artist communicates with audiences by moving arms and legs, using specific facial expressions, and wearing different style clothes. A painter exchanges his emotion and feeling with others by using various colors, arranging people or objects in a special way, or painting on various materials. No one can deny that there exist various ways to express people themselves. it would be beneficial if one can find multiple ways to communicate with others out of his world. I still remember when I was in elementary school, my parents encouraged me to study dancing and ukulele, which I am not familiar with. In the beginning, it was indeed a tough period since I had to take extra classes every day after school. However, not until I broke up with my boyfriend can I realized how useful music and dance is. when I felt upset and down, I would like to play the ukulele or dancing with the music, then sharing my video with friends and families. they all cheered and encouraged me, which definitely helped me to get through that dark period.

Another reason to support my assertion is that art classed bring practical benefits as well, even though they are not directly related to numeracy, scientific know-how, or literacy, which many parents believe are essential in preparation for employment. For instance, playing musical instruments can train students' eye-hand coordination, which can be useful for careers such as medical professionals, engineers, or technicians. Besides, pottery and porcelain making can enhance the cooperation between the left and the right brain, thereby enabling students to come up with more creative solutions to problems. Obviously, studying arts contributes a lot to children's practical skills.

From the reasons and illustrations I have given above, I would reiterate my opinion that I strongly recommend students aged five to ten study art in school because it enables them to have multiple ways to express themselves and foster some practical skills.