Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the past decade, as time marches on, the development of technology and science, have drastically changed people’s lives. One of the substantial technological advancements is the invention of television that utterly influenced all human’s lives, especially the young ones. In this regard, many people think television has welcomed many benefits, although others hold a different opinion that the negative effect of television undermines the advantages. From my vantage point, the latter view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

The first reason that makes me hold the belief that having a television at everyone’s place is created social distancing among the community. Furthermore, it has negatively affected everyone’s physical health. To be more specific, people in their free time like to spend time at home watching movies which makes them sedentary instead of going out and doing outdoor activities. Additionally, staying indoors and not meeting relatives as well as friends, create social distancing between people, and as a result, people might feel lonely in their lives. For instance, from a recent survey of the University of California, around 70% of people have been suffering from obesity due to spending a lot of their time on technology compared to the past time, and thereby, it leads to many health problems in their lives such as high BP and high cholesterol at a very young age.

Another noteworthy point is that prolonged television viewing is been linked to many mental problems. Since youngsters are very vulnerable and easily get addicted to new technology, spending long hours watching television constantly would attack their mental situation. Also, adolescents may get deviated from their education which is not a good sign for their future perspective. My brother is a compelling example of this. When he was in high school, he used to spend many hours watching his favorite cartoon programs on television and wasted his precious time playing video games. Consequently, he failed his board exam and simultaneously, started feeling very depressing and frustrated. Fortunately, he realized his mistake and changed his habit at the right time. Therefore, making a television an utmost priority would badly affect young one’s mental health.

Lastly, having discussed the issue from this point of view, I rather look at it from another standpoint. Admittedly, there are evident adverse effects of watching television, however, it could have some positive sides too. To shed more light on it, sometimes watching favorite movies on television help people to refresh their mood. Also, in the time of covid-19, when people have to stay indoors for many months, the majority of people would have survived because of television that helped them to be active at home for many months constantly. As a result, despite being adversely affected, it has some benefits which cannot be neglected.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of television can easily outweigh the benefits. This is because not only it has created many physical problems, but also, developed mental issues in young one’s life.