Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Movies and television have been playing an important role in our lives for a long time. They have a big impact on people’s behavior, especially young people. Some people think that they are affecting young people’s behavior negatively, others think the opposite way. For me, the positive effects that movies and television have been bringing to young people outnumber the bad ones. I am going to explore it in the following passages.

Firstly, televisions and movies are indispensable tools to entertain us. In life, we have to face difficulties. Young people have to deal with school assignments, paper or with their pressure at work and bosses. By watching television or movies, they can get a lot better. For example, I used to be stressed out because of my work. I would always think that my life was boring. Fortunately, one day, my friend introduced to Netflix, which has been helping me to reduce my stress level significantly. Now, after a hard day at work, I just kick back and watch a movie, forgetting about everything made me tired at work.

Secondly, televisions and movies can help young people learn numerous valuable things. Televisions have programs that educate young people about science, environment, history as well as increasing the consciousness of young people about contemporary problems. Movies sometimes contain great messages that make us contemplate about a wide variety of aspects of our lives. For example, my younger brother really likes to watch science programs and art programs on TV. Although he is just a thirteen-year-old boy, he knows a lot about science. He is also creative thanks to art programs. He just gave me a beautiful handmade gift on my birthday, which was really cool. Furthermore, he even surprises me by how thoughtful he is as a kid thanks to movies. For instance, one day he talked to me a lot about inequality after watching a movie about racism.

Those who think that televisions and movies have bad effects on young people more than good ones just do not know how to use them appropriately. Movies and television are useful things that we really need. They not only help us to relax but also help us to improve our knowledge. In a nutshell, I suppose that negative effects that movies and televisions have are infinitesimal compared to great things they bring to us.