Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Are movies and television beneficial or detrimental to young people's behavior? Although there is a nominal amount of beneficial movies and television shows out there, most of the movie and television world is filled with violence, sex, insalubrious life style, and vulgar language. Therefore, generally speaking, movies and television have negative effects on young people's behavior.

First consider the older generation of movies, those from the 80's, which are much more conservative than those of today. These movies usually contain more talking an plotting than the action we expect modern movies to have. Despite their relatively mild content, the life style of the characters in the movies could still influence the behavior of the audience. For example, the prevalent smoking found in movies from the 80's could easily affect the youths of that time, encouraging them to smoke. This will adversely affect the behavior of the youth during that time.

Now we move forward in time to examine contemporary visual entertainment content. The conservativeness found in older times were completely lost, and if a movie or television show does not contain either violence, sex, or vulgar language, it seems to have no attraction towards the audience. Whether we are viewing science fiction, such as Transformers or X-men, or watching a comedy, violence, sex, and vulgar language are concomitant. Youths viewing these contents will subconsciously imitate the actors behavior in these visual contents. How often do we see young people paraphrasing a vulgar line seen in a popular movie? Quite often, for they believe that it is "cool" to do so.

Nevertheless, there is a genre of visual content that could be quite beneficial to the youths: educational movies or channels. These include Discovery channel and other good documentaries or teaching programs. However, compared to their thrilling counterparts, the other types of movies, they seem to be much less attractive. Therefore, these types of good visual contents are viewed by less people, and thus have less influence on the youth population.

There are good and bad visual contents out there, and it is usually the bad ones that the youth likes to view. Therefore, they are prone to be affected by these insalubrious contents.