Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People living in societies have long been governed by rules, regardless of the time in which peopled lived in. Young people are taught to obey culturally accepted conventions, and laws require citizens to act in a certain way when a person dwells within the state. Some may complain that there are simply too many rules today and that young people should have more freedom. However, if we compare the rules confining modern people and the laws governing those of older generations, we can clearly identify that people now-a-days enjoy a much greater degree of freedom.

First consider the Chinese culture, in which a young man and a women were expected to marry according to the will of their parents. Young love birds were often deemed to be disappointed because their parents have already organized a wedding for them long before their maturity. Whereas modern Chinese youth enjoy the freedom of dating whosoever they wish; they are no longer culturally bound by the Chinese convention.

Next, dress code have greatly been liberated over the past few year. During the 1980's it would probably be considered lewd and inappropriate to even wear a mini skirt in public. Today, on the contrary, few people would consider it odd for a person to wear something as daring as a bikini on a hot sunny day. Those who do wear these outfit may even be tagged as fashionable, sexy, and desired according to modern standards. Therefore, it can be seen that today's dress codes seems to be much less restricting than it was before. How strict can that be?

On the other hand, however, people may argue that the number of written laws governing us have significantly increased over the years. While this may be true, this is actually due to the fact that so many new activities have occurred over the years, such as the use of technology or the invention of new automobiles. These new areas needed new rules to govern them. So, we cannot conclude that rules today are more strict than before just because the total number of rules increased; we must subjectively examine each activity to know if the rules have relaxed or not, as in the case of dress codes and cultural marriage convention mentioned above.

It can be clearly seen that rules now-a-days have relaxed very much when compared to that of the past, so to say that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow are too strict is definitely an overstatement. Convention in marriage culture and dress code are only two of the many rules that have been relaxed over the years. If anything, one can only argue that there are more rules to follow, as there are more activities to do, not that the rules are more strict.