Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

TVs and movies are indeed have many harmful effects to young people in some aspect, for example, they are addictive, cause myopia and some of the TV programs only care about creating catchy but inferior contents, which by all means have negative effects. However, to assert that they have more negative effects on the way young people behave, is a bit serious. TVs and movies are just another double-edged sword that can give either pros or cons, which completely depends on how people use it.

Although I did mention that many inferior TV program and commercial movies gives people harmful effects. However, many content creators still give people high quality programs for people to watch. In movies industry, besides from some stereotype commercial movies, there are still many great movies have a meaningful topic such as autobiography of business tycoon that tells people a successful story and dramas that makes people think about racial inequality. Among all this, recently a documentary directed by Leonardo Dicaprio just reflected how severe the global warming is and encouraged people to do something to prevent the only planet.

Aside from meaningful movies, news is another necessary element that I believe TVs are not evil. In the era of globalization, not only does one needs to know information of one’s country, but also needs to care about what happened in other country because they all affected each other; 2008 housing crisis in US eventually became global financial crisis was a great exemplary. And people rely on news to acquire the latest information. Besides, news also make people think focus on the important social issues and hence help the underprivileged minority. Few years ago when the 311 earthquake struck Japan, some people were past away and others lost their home. And thanks to news broadcasting information to other country, Japan got a lot of donation and volunteer rescue team. And the most important part is also make people consider if nuclear is safe enough, which is the most powerful part of TV news - make people focus and think on social issues.

However, just like I mentioned, some people does get addicted on TV shows and movies and lost motivation to do their work. Others might watch low quality TV shows and start to learn bad behalfs from them, for instance, curses and smoking. Nevertheless, to state that TVs and movies gives more negative effects is just like to assert that reading books have more cons than pros. I believe that generally people would consider that reading books is great and makes people knowledgeable. But reading books may also give people myopia and some books still contains curse words and bad behalf. Hence, I believe is not about books, TVs and movies. It’s about what content is inside the media and what do people choose to watch and read.

In a nutshell, I believe that TVs and movies still have many positive effects on young people. If negative consequences are taking effects on young children, adults should keep the eye on the content that their children watch. After all, watch TVs and movies correctly, young children can still become knowledgeable just like reading books.