Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays, parents can learn more from their children than their children can learn from their parents.

Parents and children are indispensable elements for a individual family, and the interaction between parents and children is extremely frequent and tight. Some people argue that currently parents can learn more from their children than their children can learn more from their parents, while others advance the opposite opinion. Towards such a rug-of-war, I am inclined to hold a neutral stance.

To begin with, parents are much older than their children and older age means more experience about life, which are very valuable for children to learn. Parents grow from babies to adults and finally to parents. The growing path will be repeated by their babies. Therefore, parents can share the experience and give many wise suggestions to their children. For example, my aunt did not get admitted by universities, and my uncle graduated from the university with master degree. My cousin, the son of my aunt and uncle, had troubles in study and had a strong will to give up applying for universities. My aunt and uncle strongly disagreed with my cousin’s thought because my aunt, without university degree, could not find a good job after she stepped into the society while my uncle became a good lawyer with excellent salary after graduation. Such experience about universities and jobs was not possessed by my cousin but went through by my aunt and uncle. Finally my cousin listened to his parents and successfully got admitted by an university.

In addition, there are many things that parents have lost during the process of growing can be learned from children for parents. Children have much precious nature, such as honesty, but when children grow to adults they are likely to lose honesty because it may not be accepted in some specific circumstances and thus is abandoned by adults. However, when adults have their own children, they can see and learn honesty back from their children. As we all know, children just speak out what they are thinking and do whatever they want to do. However, adults often disguise themselves to make others comfortable by telling lying and doing actions satisfying others. Long-time disguising is very exhausted, and even worse when adults get used to disguise they will not respect and tell the truth, which is very common for adults. Consequently, parents should learn the honesty from their children.

In the light of what has been analyzed above, there is every reason to believe that parents and their children can learn equally from each other. Parents have some advantages about experience and knowledge while children have some merits about human nature.