Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly; when a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.

There are undoubtedly certain benefits to make decisions quickly as a leader, it means that problems can be solve immediately and the leader will be considered as effective. However, it could also lead to more mistakes since problems cannot be considered comprehensively. I could hardly agree more with the statement that A leader should take a long time for decision making. The fundamental and deeper discussion will be illustrated as follows.

Spending more time on considering tends to make a wiser decision. For one thing, it is quite wise for a leader to listen more to others before the decision making. It is widely acknowledged that each individual has his own strengths and weaknesses. We can learn more about certain fields from other ideas thus having a deeper and comprehensive understanding of it. In this way, we will be more competitive equipped with others' fresh ideas. It can help us consider problems from different perspectives and avoid various of mistakes. For another, more time provides with opportunities for find and solve some hidden problems in advance, and the cost of problem solving in the future could be reduced. For instance, if a project leader takes more time to find potential risks of a project and manages to eliminate them before the project carried out, the group will face much less problems during execution of the project. On the contrary, if making decision too fast, the potential risk cannot be found, and it is possible that diverse kinds of bad situations could happen and even result in failure.

In addition, it is a good way to expand social networks. Compared with people who decide things immediately, taking more time to consider problems more thoroughly can leave a favorable impression on others that the man is reliable, and hence they have more harmonious relationship with others. They will be classified as better coworkers and others will be more willing to work with them. In this circumstance, they will be provided with more opportunities because of the pleasant impression they leave on others. When doing business, others will consider them as a perfect partner because they are rigorous. During cooperation, less conflict will occur, and they can achieve a win-win situation. By contrast, making decision quickly as a leader may leave an impression on others that he is not a believable man. Thus, it could cause difficulties in dealing with interpersonal relationships and even leads to loss of time and money.

To sum up, we may safely conclude that it is better to take much time to make decisions as a leader. This is because it is not only able to avoid certain mistakes, but also can help expand social networks.