Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly. When a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.

In today’s fast-paced business environment, a leader’s working efficiency is of greater and greater significance in the workplace. Some people argue that the ability to make decisions quickly is a necessity for a successful leader, while others claim that the speed of making decisions has nothing to do with a leader’s capability and working efficiency. As far as I am concerned, a leader’s success should not be determined by whether he can make decisions quickly or not. My specific reasons and examples are given below.

First of all, the quality to make decisions carefully and thoughtfully makes more sense to a successful leader. Generally, the decision made by a group leader will determine the future of the whole team, and a quick but cursory determination might cause irreversible consequences. For instance, in my junior year, my software engineering group wanted to build a social media platform. In order to meet the deadline, our group leader quickly decided the software design and wrote the preliminary proposal without consideration of our actual coding ability and budget. At the beginning, everything went alright. However, when we got down to programming, we found that we could not complete the project at all because the expectation was far above the reality. Finally, our project ended up with failure just due to our leader’s hurried and careless decision.

Secondly, a successful leader should adopt his colleagues’ opinions while making decisions thus it is impossible to determine so quickly. Nowadays, collaboration and communication mean a lot for not only employees but also leaders. Before making any important decisions, leaders will take lots of time to hold a meeting, discuss the pros and cons of the alternatives with staffs or conduct an investigation to learn about other members’ thoughts. Only the dictatorial leader who is not able to succeed will make decisions rapidly and unilaterally.

What’s more, just the reverse, taking some time for a leader to make decisions can increase the working efficiency of the whole team. As a proverb goes, grinding a chopper will not hold up the work of cutting firewood. It is because adequate preparation can avoid possible mistakes and quicken the speed in doing work. The time spent in modifying the plan is much more than that spent in making decisions. The business investment is a good case in point. Before a business person does any investment, he will fully consider of the company’s background, the investment risk and the rate of return instead of deciding to invest right away. Accordingly, it is totally worth consuming the time and energy to think twice before the final determination.

In a nutshell, it is more important for a successful leader to think repetitively before making decisions, and the speed of determination does not make much sense.