47-W2

We are living in an information era and information is becoming increasingly important for our lives. Faced with the information explosion, some people may choose to ignore those events which are far from their daily lives since they think those events are unlikely to influence their lives and it's a waste of time to learn about them. However, in my opinion, it's better for us to know more about affairs happening around the world positively no matter whether those information is relevant with daily life or not. This will become more evident when we look at it through three different perspectives as following.

To begin with, learning about the current affairs around the world is favourable for us to move forward and keep pace with the developed countries. There is an old saying in my country, "life is like rowing upstream, not to advance is to go back". If we only care about what happened in domestic country and stay in original position, we will definitely be surpassed by other countries. For instance, we have learned a lesson from the history. In Qing Dynasty, the government thought they were the best in the world and stopped communicating with foreign countries. Thus they didn't know about the Industry Revolution and how advanced the technology had been developed until the other countries broke our country's door and robbed our country. If the government had paid more attention to the foreign affairs and made better contact with exotic countries to learn the advanced techniques, this lesson wouldn't have got so bad. Even in modern society, we know that smartphone develops very fast today but the cell phone technology in my country is far away advanced. As a result, lots of cell phone companies in my country required their employees to keep watch on the events and techniques of advanced companies such as Apple in order to keep competitive. Thus, knowing current affairs around the world is really important if we want to get progress.

In addition, we can discover more business opportunities if we can pay more attention to events happening on the earth. Because it provides us a good way to see how foreign people live in different cultures. Then we can figure out the different demands between exotic people and native people and we can try to use the advantages of domestic market to compete with exotic companies. For example, the labour force cost in advanced countries is much higher than in China, thus many manmade products in those developed countries are really expensive. Through learning about the marketing affairs around the world, Chinese companies can use this big cost advantage to make much more cheap and high-quality products to export to foreign countries. And it turns out that those manmade products are really competitive when they are faced with foreign companies. Thus, learning about events in other countries can help us find more opportunity to get a successful business.

Admittedly, since the information is too explosive and people are usually busy with their work, lots of people think it’s a waste of time to learn those events that are irrelevant with their daily lives at present. However, it’s really unwise because even though those events cannot affect their daily lives now, they are likely to influence their lives in the future, especially with the fast progress of technology. Today’s people should try to strike a balance of information possession between those happened near their lives and those far away their lives. And the information will definitely be worth the time.

To sum up, it’s really beneficial for people to learn about events happening around the world in order to keep pace with the fast development of society no matter whether those events will affect their daily life or not.