Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One should never judge a person by external appearances. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Meeting a person for the first time cannot give an idea about their personalities as some factors could affect that impression. A person can be elegantly dressed but when getting closer to them, one can see their negative character and vise versa. The external look could be deceptive and also it is unfair. For these reasons, I don't agree with the statement that one can assess someone's character by their extrinsic look. I will explain my point of view in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, outer appearance could be misleading. Dressing well is not proof that the person owns a good personality and dressing awful doesn't mean that the person is terrible. For example, there was a famous Neurologist in my country named Prof. Dawood Mustafa who was the best in the Middle East. Despite his wealth, he used to wear rag outfits that were not suiting his medical position. One day, a new resident doctor started working at the hospital who had never met Prof. Mustafa before that day. When Prof. Mustafa entered his department at the hospital, that new doctor shouted at him and tried to kick him out of the office. He thought he was homeless who came to that place to beg for something. What made everybody shocked and speechless that Prof. Mustafa left the office without saying a word and waited outside leaving his colleagues explaining the situation to the new doctor. That’s my first example to prove that judging a person according to his cloth is not right.

Secondly, it’s unfair to judge someone by the way they dressed. A person could experience life conflicts that affect their mood as a result, they don’t pay attention to what they wear. They could dress hideous clothes without paying attention if they look good or not because of their personal situation. However, originally they could have nice clothing tase. For example, a friend of mine used to always dress elegantly and was always happy spreading her smile and laughter everywhere. One day, her world had turned upside down when her parents died in a car crash. That incident completely broke her world which had a great impact on her appearance. She lost her smiley face and her fabulous style due to her sadness. Unfortunately, some students started to call her “Depresso” which was really cruel and unfair to judge her because of the way she looked was changed due to the emotional crisis she had suffered.

In conclusion, the first impression that one gets according to the person’s external appearance is usually not right. It could be deceitful and also lead us to and oppressive judgment. For those reasons, I don’t agree to build an opinion about someone according to one’s external appearance.