Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only movies that can teach us something about real life are worth watching.

What movies are worth watching? If you ask ten people, you probably will get ten distinct answers. As movies become a common way for joy, chances are slim that a person watches only a single type of movies. Comedies, documentaries, thrillers, the sci-fi or the romantic, etc. Not all movies teach us something in “real life”. At its most basic level, movies are nothing more than an entertainment method. Personally speaking, every movie are worth watching as long as we enjoy it.

One of my favorite movie types is the documentary. Documentaries have taught me nothing about real life but many things about science or culture. Firstly, various documentaries have covered most disciplines nowadays. To name but just a few, geography, biology, ecology, history, physics, psychology and chemistry. They can enrich our knowledges and broaden our horizon besides the curriculum studies. Moreover, I enjoy watching documentaries very much. Every time I watch documentaries produced by National Geography, the splendid beauty of the earth will take my breath away. Diversified natural landscapes, some up to the highest sky, others down to the deepest ocean, which I’ve never seen before in my life are all brought in front of me. Just the visual pleasure documentaries provided make them worthy of watching.

Another class of movies I love is the comedy. Watching Comedy is the most effective way to fight of depression. When enjoying comedies, the spontaneous laughter lead to so ultimate happiness from the bottom of their hearts that it seems that all disturbing affairs have been swept away. In addition, comedies help us stay in a good mood, which can reduce the risk of many diseases, such as high blood pressure, coronary artery disease and endocrine disorder. We can live a happier and longer life accompanied by comedies. So comedies are also worth watching, even if most of them don’t actually teach us something in real life.

It also pays to watch many other types of movies. Romantic films is good lubricant to enhance love bonds between couples. Thrillers give us incomparably exciting experience that other movies cannot provide. Sci-fi films create unlimited possibilities of the future beyond individual’s imagination.

It’s superficial to simply say that only movies that can teach us something about real life are worth watching. What is reasonable is real; that which is real is reasonable. Comedies, documentaries, thrillers, the sci-fi and the romantic, all movies have their own reason for existing and thus are worth watching to some degree, even though we can learn nothing in real life from some of them.